Things I love

My new favourite website: Longform.org

At the start of 2013, I set myself the goal of reading at least 24 books this year. January got off to a good start, I read 2 and a half books. Then I discovered Longform.org.

Focussing specifically on pieces longer than 2000 words, Longform “recommends new and classic non-fiction from around the web” with articles being submitted by writers and magazines such as GQ and The New Yorker.

I came across the site when it was recommended as part of the The Atlantic Wire‘s best 25 long reads of 2012.

There are three things I really like about the site:

1. Curation. The purpose of Longform.org is simple: to act as the location for quality storytelling. So whilst all the featured articles are freely available online, you know that only the very best are recommended. I’m yet to be disappointed.

2. Design. It’s clean and simple. I don’t have an iPad, but if I did, this app would be one of the first I’d download.

3. Integration with reading platforms.

Longform

It’s highly unlikely that I will read a 2000+ word article on my laptop, so one of the killer features for me is a drop down menu that lets you select how you read the articles away from the site. Its options include Readiblity, Instapaper, Pocket and Kindle. By selecting one of these from the menu each article synopsis contains a button that immediately lets you share it with your platform of choice. Love that.

There is so much good stuff on here. Sign up to the RSS feed. Also visit their Best of 2012 list and 2011 and 2010, which I’m working my way through.

Hope you all get as much from it as I am and will continue to.

Standard

One thought on “My new favourite website: Longform.org

  1. Pingback: Things I loved in February 2013 | OUTSIDE.IN.

Leave a Reply

