Homelife, Marketing, Work life

From WordPress to Posterous and back…sort of…

Two days before Christmas 2012, I removed the twitter and instagram apps from my phone. I primarily did this to get off the grid for a couple of weeks. I wanted to spend time with my friends and family, and I didn’t want nor need the distraction that both these networks provide me. Personally, I have found them to be two huge timesinks.

It’s been three weeks and I haven’t re-installed them. I don’t miss them.

So, this little exercise got me thinking about all my online profiles. So as I conducted a new year spruce, I logged into my wordpress blog and noticed that I hadn’t posted since the end of 2010. My Posterous on the other hand has been a bit more active. However, I cannot remember how or why I came to having two blog platforms. I certainly can’t remember the decision making process for deciding that this was a good idea. Anyhoop, I need to streamline my blogging *cough*Ineedtoblogmoreoften*cough* and the platforms. Thus, I’m moving back to wordpress.

I’m doing this for two reasons:

1. I use wordpress in a professional capacity and I feel more comfortable with the UI etc etc

2. The future of posterous looks a very uncertain given the twitter acquisition. (Incidently, no news is bad news) And besides, it’s become an unwieldy beast of a platform. I can no longer find my way around it with any ease or with the enjoyment that I used to.

So, here’s to a streamlined 2013.

Standard

Leave a Reply

